Glossary of
Vegetarianism and
Vegetarian Cuisine

adj  Anything marked with the kosher symbol (K) was manufactured in accordance with Hebrew dietary laws, which state that dairy products cannot be combined with meat products. Therefore, the kosher symbol indicates that the product contains dairy or meat but not both.

Note that kosher is not at all synonymous with vegetarian.


Related terms

Kosher dairy – The kosher dairy (D) symbol indicates a product which either contains dairy or was manufactured on machines that process dairy.

Kosher gelatin – Gelatin from a non-mammal source, such as fish.

Pareve – The pareve symbol (P) indicates that the product does not contain meat or dairy, though it may contain fish or eggs.


Alternate spelling



Related term



Learn more

Vegetarian substitutions


Vegetarian Glossary Index